Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award (MBNQA)


What is Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award ?

The Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award recognizes U.S. organizations in the business, health care, education, and nonprofit sectors for performance excellence.

Framework of MBNQA

In MBNQA Categories are divided in Leadership, Strategic Planning, Customer and Market Focus, Information and Analysis, Human Resource Focus, Process Management and Business Results.

Features of Malcolm Baldrige Award

Features of MBNQA include, Facilitates Communication, Promotes Quality, Holistic Set of Measurement and Unique and Effective Scoring Component.

Criteria for Performance Excellence in MBNQA

Organisations that apply for Award are judged by an independent board of examiners. Recipients are selected based on achievement and improvement in seven areas of Baldrige.

Advantages of MBNQA

Award and quality marks can boost your organization's reputation, setting you "apart from the crowd." They can also give your people a morale boost by highlighting their achievements.

Disadvantages of MBNQA

Disadvantages of MBNQA include, Over-Advertisement, Incremental improvements, Narrow Focus and Applying for the Award is too Expensive.

What are the Seven Baldrige Criteria ?

click here to know more

Seven categories of performance including Leadership, Strategy, Customers, Measurement, Analysis and Knowledge Management, Workforce, Operations and Results.