"Pearson Test of English (PTE) Exam"

Eligibility, Types, Dates, Pattern, Syllabus, Duration, Scored, Fees, Results and Registration

What is PTE Exam ?

The Pearson Test of English (PTE) is a computer-based English language proficiency exam designed to assess the abilities of non-native English speakers in reading, writing, speaking, and listening. 

Types of PTE Exam

PTE exam is available in two main types: PTE Academic, which assesses English proficiency for academic purposes, and PTE General, which evaluates skills for non-academic contexts.

PTE Exam Eligibility

Anyone who is at least 16 years old and seeking to demonstrate their English language proficiency, whether for academic, professional, or immigration purposes, is eligible to take the PTE exam.


PTE Exam Syllabus and Pattern

Pearson Test of English exam syllabus covers four main sections: Speaking & Writing, Reading, Listening, and an optional but recommended preparation section known as "Introduction."

How Long is the PTE Exam ?

PTE exam is approximately 3 hours long, assessing English proficiency across four sections: Speaking & Writing, Reading, Listening, and an optional but recommended Introduction section.

How is PTE Exam Scored ?

The PTE exam is scored based on a scale from 10 to 90 points, with 10-point increments. Each of the four sections is scored individually, and the total score is the sum of these section scores.

PTE Exam Fee

The fee for the PTE (Pearson Test of English) exam varies by country but typically ranges from $150 to $250 USD, with additional charges for services like rescheduling or sending scores to institutions.

How to Register for the PTE Exam ?


To register for PTE exam, visit the official Pearson PTE website, create an account, select your desired test center and date, and make the payment online.